Facharbeit- my first ideas of a topic

Today our task was  to brainstorm about our topic of the Facharbeit.

At first I deliberated about the two big topics “Globalization” and “Africa”.

I chose Africa as my topic because I’m very interested in the culture, the different way of living and the problems. Furthermore, I think it is a multifaced topic with many different possibilities to work on.

Another reason why I picked Africa is, that I really like reading and so I already read many books about Africa. I remembered a book, in which a woman called Waris Dirie tells her story as her biography. She lived in the desert of Somalia as a nomad and was a victimto the genital mutilation which is typical for her home country.  At the age of 13 she ran away from home because she should marry an old man. So she worked as a housemaid with her uncle in London until she was discovered as a model at the age of 18.  It took a long time until she was able to speak about her fate.

Today she is UN advocate for the abolition of female genital mutilation.

So at the moment I think about picking the book as the base of my Facharbeit because it deals with the topic Africa and it contains a problem which I could handle.

February 5, 2008. Nicht kategorisiert.

3 Comments

  1. mmfreinhard replied:

    Good and suitable topic for a Facharbeit, Anke, just carry on thinking and planning in this direction 🙂
    dt

  2. marenlk replied:

    Anke! ❤
    I think it is a good idea to base your Facharbeit on the autobiography you read! I am sure that it will be more fun to work with a book you read voluntarily than with a book that was alloted to you 😉

    greetz, Maren 🙂

  3. franzi replied:

    Hey Anke!
    This book you are writing about seems to be interesting and deals with a serious problem! I’m shure it is a good idea to base your Facharbeit on this book 🙂

Leave a comment

Trackback URI